Hi,

I had the coolest thing happen today. I’ve been Googling almost daily to find the Strib’s follow-up piece about the premiere of “Destination: Outer Space” and never had any luck. This morning, I woke up with the sudden, seemingly random thought that I’d better use a coupon I have for Ricky’s Embers Restaurant in Fridley before it expires.

It’s a fair distance from home, so I don’t often go there, but I took the pooches for a walk in Columbia Park (Columbia Heights) to justify the drive. Anyway, after I ordered my burger to go, I sat in one of their waiting area chairs, which were covered with previously read newspapers. No sooner did I sit down but I looked to my left, and whose mug do you think was staring up at me? That’s right, the surprisingly photogenic Mr. Mihm!! I squealed with glee and had to tell the server why I was spazzing and fully intended to steal that copy of the paper.

See what happens when one is Divinely Inspired?

This was the movie premiere to end all movie premieres! You may recall, my hubby and I each had ONE LINE in it! —Sid
Christopher R. Mihm, photo by Joel Koyama, Star Tribune

250 attend premiere.

Joel Koyama, Star Tribune

Fans turned out at the Heights Theater in Columbia Heights last week for the world premiere of Christopher Mihm’s latest film foray, “Destination: Outer Space.” The movie follows in the sci-fi trail blazed by the Arden Hills filmmaker’s previous works: “The Monster of Phantom Lake” (2006); “It Came From Another World” (2007), “Cave Women on Mars” (2008) and “Terror from Beneath the Earth” (2009).

“Destination” involves a rocket that travels faster than the speed of light — no small feat. Also remarkable was how Mihm’s fans donated time and money when recession-related financial challenges put the movie up in the air (“Destination: Outer Space,” North Extra, April 21: www.startribune.com/local/north/91264509.html.)

Another metro-area showing is coming up at 7 p.m. June 25 at East Ridge High School, Woodbury. For more: www.sainteuphoria.com.