It was two years ago today I made my first public address to commemorate National Pet Memorial Day at the Honoring the Animals Candlelight Vigil hosted by Chance’s Spot Pet Loss Support and held in Louisville, Kentucky. Today, this event shares the spotlight with remembrances of 9/11. The two kinds of losses, though vastly different in scope and political repercussions nevertheless leave indelible marks in each of us affected by them.

As you meditate today about those lost in the Twin Towers or the other tragic plane crash, as I’m sure all Americans will, be sure to take a moment to remember our animal companions who have passed away and celebrate and express thanks for those who remain with us today. Give special thanks to those animals who serve in the Armed Forces, with the police, as service and therapy animals, etc. Vow to do some small thing today to show your thanks, such as visiting the Animal Rescue Site and clicking to help feed homeless animals. I do this daily, before I even check my emails. It’s a positive habit to develop.

If you know of someone who is facing pet loss or has recently lost an animal family member, please refer him or her to my site at <www.goodgriefpetloss.com>. I welcome everyone to send to me short tributes to their pets and a jpeg image for me to add to my blog’s Pet Passings section. Of course, everyone is free to contact me in my capacity as an animal chaplain if she or he feels the need to share thoughts or receive support as they process this loss. My book, “Good Grief: Finding Peace After Pet Loss,” is always available for an ongoing source of that support, too. I will gladly inscribe books purchased through my site to personalize them for the person and pet; and $2 from each of those sales goes to support no-kill animal shelters. See my Affiliates link to read about those fine organizations.

There are some ideas for how to commemorate your pet’s passing  at <http://www.factmonster.com/petmemory.html>, but at barest minimum, take the time to give your pets an extra dose of love today and acknowledge their vital importance in your life.—Sid

